A charge of driving under the influence carries with it some stiff penalties, but each individual state has different ways for dealing with its offenders. Some states go after a person’s wallet, while others seek to punish offenders with longer jail sentences or license restrictions. Below, we look at some of the harshest DUI laws in the United States, and compare them to the penalties in Minnesota.
Biggest Fine – Washington
If you get popped for a DUI in Washington, you’re going to feel it where it hurts – your wallet. A first time DUI charge in Washington carries with it a potential fine of $5,000. In the event that you are convicted of a DUI, you’ll also need to install an interlock ignition device, which has both installation and monthly fees.
Minnesota – In Minnesota, a first time DUI charge (typically referred to as a fourth degree DUI) carries a minimum fine of $300, and a maximum fine of $1,000.
Most Jail Time – Massachusetts
Massachusetts holds the distinction for subjecting its DUI offenders to the harshest potential jail sentence. If you get pulled over for a DUI in The Bay State, you can face up to two years in prison!
Minnesota – A fourth degree DUI in Minnesota carries a potential 90-day sentence for a conviction.
Longest Loss of License – Ohio
License restrictions vary more than any other penalty from state to state. Some states don’t suspend a person’s license, while other states can revoke the privilege for a few years. Seven states – Kentucky, Michigan, New Jersey, Pennsylvania, Rhode Island, South Carolina, South Dakota and Tennessee – do not suspended driving privileges. The strictest state? Ohio. Offenders who get pulled over in The Buckeye State can lose their license for up to three years!
Minnesota – Driver’s license revocations in Minnesota vary depending upon some circumstances surrounding your arrest for driving under the influence. Take a look at the chart below for details.
Although you can lose your license for a year by refusing to take a breathalyzer, it’s important to remember that it’s not always in your best interest to consent to a test. If you blow over the legal limit, you are handing the police all the evidence they need to convict you. With the help of a criminal defense attorney, you stand a better chance of beating a DUI charge if you respectfully refuse to submit to a breath test. If you had the choice of losing your license or having a DUI on your record, what would you choose?
In the event that you are charged with a DUI, you will have to wait 15 days before you can apply for a limited license, which allows you to preform certain driving tasks like getting to and from work or shuttling your children to school.
Even though Minnesota isn’t as tough on drunk driving offenders as other states, you’d still be wise to consider a cab the next time you go out on the town. Nobody needs to go to jail, pay thousands of dollars in fines, and lose their driver’s license.
Related source: http://expresslane.idrivesafely.com/