Minnesota has the third most DWIs per capita of any state in the country. All Minnesota drivers need to be aware of the consequences of drunk driving before they get behind the wheel. Consider these consequences before you consider drinking and driving.
Criminal consequences of a MN DWI charge include: bail and conditions of release from custody, jail time, probation, court-ordered chemical dependency evaluation, and random testing.
Jail time and fines vary based on the degree and circumstances of the DWI charge.
Probation is meant to help the DWI offender reintegrate into society as a law abiding citizen. While on probation, offenders are subject to random drug and alcohol testing. They are also often required to obtain a chemical dependency evaluation and psychological assessment. For MN DWIs, probation periods range from several months, to six years.
Chemical dependency evaluations are used to determine how dependent a person is on chemicals such as drugs or alcohol. These are very commonly required following a DWI charge. If a dependency is found, the DWI offender is usually required to seek treatment in the form of rehabilitation, Alcoholics Anonymous meetings, and other mandatory classes.
Civil consequences of a MN DWI conviction include: driver’s license revocation, vehicle forfeiture, license plate impoundment, and increased insurance rates.
Driver’s license revocation is problematic for most people who rely on driving themselves to work every day, or driving their kids to school or daycare. Driver’s license revocation periods are determined by the Minnesota Department of Public Safety. Learn the specifics of Driver’s License Revocation.
In Minnesota, the state can seize a vehicle used in a MN DWI offense if they allege it was employed in connection with a second or first degree DWI. The forfeiture of the vehicle can happen without a judicial decree, unless the MN drunk driver takes action to prevent it by filing a judicial demand for forfeiture within 30 days of receiving the state’s notice.
A vehicle used in the course of various DWI offenses may have its license plates impounded. Impoundment happens at the time of the arrest if law enforcement revokes an eligible person’s driving privileges because the person failed or refused to give a blood alcohol concentration test.
Insurance rates are severely impacted by having a DWI offense on your record. When you receive a DWI charge, two notations enter your traffic records that are visible to insurance companies. When your insurance provider sees a DWI charge on your record they will either drop your coverage or offer you “risk insurance,” which is coverage with over inflated prices (usually around $2 – $10 thousand over the next 10 years).