One of the first things people charged with a DUI want to know is what type of fine they are facing if they are convicted. It makes sense to want to understand the financial fallout of the situation, but it’s also important to recognize that the fine itself is not the only way your wallet will take a hit after a DUI. In today’s blog, we take a closer look at at the fine for a first time DUI in Minnesota, but also explain some of the additional costs you may face in the wake of a DUI.
Minnesota DUI Fine
We’ll get straight to the point. For your run-of-the-mill DUI in Minnesota, you’ll be charged with a misdemeanor, which is punishable by up to 90 days in jail and a fine of up to $1,000. You likely won’t be hit with the full $1,000 fine for your first offense, but you also won’t get off easy, either, as Minnesota has instituted a $300 minimum fine for first time DUIs. In other words, you’ll be fined between $300 and $1,000 for your DUI.
As we mentioned in the introduction, this fine isn’t the only financial aspect you’ll have to be mindful of in the wake of a DUI. Some other costs you can expect to deal with include:
Towing – If you car has to be towed away from the scene or is impounded, you can face towing and impound fees, which typically runs a couple hundred dollars or more depending on the length of the impoundment.
Filing Fees – If you are attempting to challenge the revocation of your driver’s license, you’ll have to pay filing fees, which are roughly $320 for this type of case.
License Reinstatement – If you want to apply for a limited license in order to continue driving, you’ll need to pay a reinstatement fee among other things, which will run $680.
Automobile Insurance – If you are convicted, your automobile insurance company will significantly increase your rates, which over the course of the next few years, can cost you thousands of dollars. Increased car insurance premiums are a hefty expense that many people overtimes overlook in the wake of a DUI.
Lawyer – A lawyer is going to cost some money, but it’s the only expense on this list that can save you money in the long run. A lawyer may cost you a couple thousand dollars, but if you win and avoid a license suspension, a hefty fine and huge automobile insurance increases, this expense will easily end up paying for itself. You should always take a consultation with a lawyer to talk about your case, even if you don’t end up hiring the lawyer, although for a DUI, we recommend having a lawyer by your side.
Substance Education Classes – If you are convicted, or you want to show the judge that you take the case seriously, you may complete an alcohol education course. This typically runs around $100-$200 and takes place over the course of a weekend.
Odds are you may run into a few more expenses depending on how your case plays out, but know that the fine is not the only monetary penalty you’ll have to worry about. For help with your criminal case, or to talk to a lawyer about your DUI charges, reach out to Avery and the team at Appelman Law Firm today at (952) 224-2277.