When it comes to getting back behind the wheel after a DUI conviction, Minnesota is rather unique in the fact that we require some drivers to get Whiskey Plates, also known as Special Registration Plates. You can read more about Whiskey Plates on this older blog post, but today, we’re going to put your knowledge of these unique plates to the test. See how much you know about Whiskey Plates by taking our quiz!
Whiskey Plate Quiz
See if you can correctly answer these questions about Whiskey Plates in Minnesota.
1. Which license plate is an example of a Whiskey Plate?
2. Once obtained, the minimum amount of time a person must display a Whiskey Plate is:
A. 3 Months
B. 6 Months
C. 1 Year
D. 2 Years
3. True or False – A person only needs to obtain Whiskey Plates for every car they solely own. Any cars that are co-owned do not need Whiskey Plates.
4. Which of the following conditions is NOT a qualifying factor to lose your license plate to government impoundment?
A. Getting a second DUI within 10 years of the first offense.
B. Getting a DUI with a BAC above 0.16.
C. Getting a DUI with a minor in the vehicle.
D. Getting arrested for driving after your driver’s license has been cancelled.
E. Getting arrested for DUI and refusing to submit to a breathalyzer.
5. True or False – Kevin and Joe head to the Vikings game in Kevin’s car. After celebrating a Vikings win, Joe offers to drive home because Kevin is hammered. Joe is pulled over and a breath test shows he has a BAC of 0.18. Under Minnesota law, Kevin has to get a Whiskey Plate on his vehicle, even though Joe was driving?
6. Drivers can challenge plate impoundment in district court if they file a petition for judicial review within ___ days of receiving notice of plate impoundment.
A. 7 days
B. 10 days
C. 30 days
D. 90 days
7. The Minnesota DMV charges approximately ___ for Whiskey Plates. They also charge approximately ___ to remove the plates at the end of impoundment.
A. $20, $20
B. $35, $35
C. $35, $10
D. $57, $57
8. True or False – If police see a driver with a Whiskey Plate, they can pull them over, even if no other violation was witnessed.
Whiskey Plate Quiz Answers
Here are the answers to the quiz.
1. B. A whiskey plate begins with a W, has another letter, then ends with four numbers.
2. C. A whiskey plate must be displayed for a minimum of one year before a person can apply for regular plates.
3. False. Every car owned or co-owned needs to have whiskey plates, even if you never drive your wife’s car.
4. E. Refusing to submit to a breathalyzer won’t end in plate impoundment, assuming you don’t have prior convictions.
5. True. Even though you can apply for administrative review, Kevin needs to get Whiskey Plates on his car, despite the fact that he wasn’t the one driving!
6. C. A person can challenge plate impoundment so long as they file a review within 30 days of impoundment.
7. D. It’s about $114 total to get Whiskey Plates and to get your regular plates back.
8. False. In 2003, Minnesota made it unconstitutional for police to stop a driver solely because they have Whiskey Plates.