When a person is involved in an accident, they are legally obligated to stop their vehicle as soon as possible and return to the scene of the accident.
At the scene of the accident the person is required to give law enforcement and/or any other driver(s) involved in the accident their:
- Date or birth
If a person hits an unattended vehicle they should make reasonable attempts to locate the other driver, notify the police, or leave contact information for the other owner.
Failure to follow through with this duty to stop can result in a Minnesota hit and run offense. The charges for hit and run depend on the details surrounding the accident.
Hit & Run Penalties
A person can be charged with a felony hit and run offense if they are involved in an accident which results in the death of an individual. This charge carries a potential sentence of up to three years in prison and fines reaching $5,000.
A hit and run accident that causes someone great bodily harm is also a felony offense with a potential sentence of up to two years in prison and fines up to $4,000.
An accident that results in the substantial bodily harm of another is punishable by up to $3,000 in fines and up to one year in jail.
- Great bodily harm is bodily injury which creates a high chance of death, or which results in permanent disfigurement or the loss of an organ
- Substantial bodily harm is bodily injury that causes a temporary but serious disfigurement or a fracture
Minnesota Hit & Run Lawyers
Police, prosecuting attorneys, and judges take hit and run offenses very seriously because they often directly result in injury or death. There may be legitimate reasons for fleeing the scene of a crime. A skilled Minnesota traffic attorney can determine a way to defend your case and get your penalties reduced to their lowest possible form.