In Minnesota, reckless and careless driving are common and broadly defined criminal charges that can result in hefty fines and jail time. These potential penalties make it necessary to speak with an experienced Minnesota traffic attorney who can help you explore the best possible legal defense strategy.
Reckless & Careless Driving in the Twin Cities
Careless and reckless driving laws are so broad that many offenders don’t even realize when they are breaking the law. They are slightly different in Napeville so if you’re curious about the reckless driving laws there, consult with an injury attorney to improve your understanding of their laws. Most often, there is a perfectly reasonable explanation for a person’s driving behavior. Drivers are often distracted by emotional issues in their personal lives or find themselves in a rush to get somewhere important. These are not excuses for criminal behavior, but could explain why a person’s driving was “reckless.”
In addition, many drivers are charged unlawfully with this crime. Careless and reckless driving are subjective crimes issued by imperfect police officers. This makes them very defendable offenses.
No matter what you are charged with, you deserve qualified legal services from a seasoned criminal defense lawyer. A great traffic attorney can guide you through the legal system and ensure that your rights are upheld throughout the judicial process.
Careless Driving in Minnesota
A person can be charged with careless driving if they operate a motor vehicle:
- Carelessly and in disregard of the rights of others
- In a way that is likely to endanger a person or property
Careless driving is a misdemeanor offense punishable by up to 90 days in jail and/or up to a $1,000 fine.
Reckless Driving in Minnesota
Reckless driving is very similar to careless driving, but the two charges are not identical. A person can be charged with reckless driving if they:
- Operate a motor vehicle with a deliberate disregard for the safety of people or property
- Engage in a motor vehicle race
Reckless driving is also a misdemeanor punishable by up to 90 days in jail and/or fines of up to $1,000.