Experienced Minnesota DWI lawyers understand that driver’s license revocation associated with a Minnesota DWI is problematic. People charged with a DWI still have responsibilities. Many have to drive to work, or drop children off at school. That is why it is important to have a Minnesota drunk driving attorney fight to reinstate your license.
Driver’s license revocation periods are determined by the Minnesota Department of Public Safety—the state agency empowered to issue Minnesota Driver’s licenses.
During the period of revocation, a limited license may be issued. A limited license is a “work permit,” which allows the holder to operate a motor vehicle during set periods of time and for specific work-related purposes.
New Minnesota DWI Laws
In July 2011, new Minnesota DWI laws went into effect. These new laws only impact the civil consequences of a DWI charge such as license revocation, interlock ignition, and whiskey plates. The chart below outlines the various penalties under these new laws:
|DWI Charge||Priors||Enhancements||Eligible for Limited License||Interlock Ignition Required||Whiskey Plates Required|
|4th Degree||None within 10 years or less than 2 in lifetime||BAC=less than .16||Yes||No||No|
|4th Degree||None||Under 21 & BAC=less than .16||Yes||No||No|
|4th Degree||None||Under 21 & BAC=.16-.19||Yes||Yes||Yes|
|4th Degree||2 in lifetime||BAC=less than .16||Yes||Yes||No|
|4th Degree||2 in lifetime||BAC=.16-.19||Yes||Yes||Yes|
|3rd Degree||None||BAC greater than/equal to .16||Yes||Yes||Yes|
|3rd Degree||2 in lifetime||BAC greater than/equal to .16||Yes||Yes||Yes|
|1 within 10 years||2 in lifetime||BAC=less than .16||Yes||Yes||Yes|
|3rd Degree||1 within 10 years||BAC=.16-.19||Yes||Yes||Yes|
|3rd Degree Refusal||None within 10 years or less than 2 in lifetime||BAC=.16-.19||n/a||n/a||No|
|2nd Degree||1 within 10 years||BAC greater than/equal to .16||Yes||Yes||Yes|
|2nd Degree||2 within 10 years||n/a||B-card||Yes||Yes|
|2nd Degree||3 in lifetime||n/a||B-card||Yes||Yes|
|2nd Degree||3 within 10 years||n/a||B-card||Yes||Yes|
|2nd Degree||5 in lifetime||n/a||No||No||No|
|2nd Degree Refusal||None within 10 years or less than 2 in lifetime||Child in car||Yes||No||Yes|
|2nd Degree Refusal||1 within 10 years||n/a||Yes||Yes||Yes|
|2nd Degree Refusal||2 within 10 years||n/a||No||No||No|
Minnesota Implied Consent Law has a procedure to challenge the validity of an alcohol related driver’s license revocation. A seasoned DWI attorney can help retain your driver’s license following a DWI arrest.
While the information contained in this chart is accurate, it is subject to change. If you have questions regarding your Minnesota DWI driver’s license revocation, contact the Minnesota Department of Public Safety.