In Minnesota, it is a felony offense to cause the death or great bodily injury of another person while operating a motor vehicle if the following conditions exist:
- The driving is done in a grossly negligent manner
- The driving is done in a negligent manner while under the influence of alcohol and/or a controlled substance
- The driver had a BAC of 0.08 or more
- The person was driving in a negligent manner while knowingly under the influence of a hazardous substance
- The driver leaves the scene of the accident
Penalties for Vehicular Homicide & Injury
The severity of the penalty depends upon the victim’s level of harm. In all scenarios, this statute only applies when the offender cannot be charged with intentional murder, manslaughter, or assault under the circumstances of the offense.
The penalties for criminal vehicular homicide and injury in Minnesota are listed below by type of injury:
- Death: 10 years in prison and/or a $20,000 fine
- Great bodily harm: 5 years in prison and/or a $10,000 fine
- Substantial bodily harm: 3 years in prison and/or $10,000 fine
- Bodily harm: 1 year in prison and/or a $10,000 fine
Minnesota Traffic Lawyer
If you injure or kill somebody while driving under the influence of a controlled substance, you may be charged with criminal vehicular homicide or injury in addition to DUI charges. The penalties for both charges can be quite severe, which is why it is in your best interest to consult with an experienced Minneapolis criminal defense attorney as soon as possible.